Additional Apparitions

Format for Holy Hour

Scripture Reading: 1 Corinthians 15:3–11

Optional: Galatians 1:11–17; Acts 9:3–9

Context: Our final Scriptural meditation on the Resurrection appearances is from the Apostle Paul. Interestingly, Ignatius divides this into three meditations based on the audiences described in 1 Corinthians 15:6–8: 

  1. Verse 6: Jesus’ appearance to 500 people at once
  2. Verse 7: Jesus’ appearance to James
  3. Verse 8: Jesus’ appearance to Saint Paul himself

He also includes a meditation on the tradition that Jesus appeared to Joseph of Arimathea.

Though Ignatius does not give much as far as content for these meditations, it is useful to prayerfully read the Corinthians passage above, including the full context of verses 3–11, and to consider one person at a time. Though Scripture simply mentions these appearances, the individual impact that each appearance had is incalculable.

Saint Paul especially humbles himself, noting his grave unworthiness of having Christ appear to himself. Recall the scene in the Acts of the Apostles when Paul is blinded and asked by Jesus why he is persecuting Him.

Saint Ignatius also makes mention of the appearance of Christ to those who had already died but were waiting for the gift of salvation, such as Abraham, Moses, the prophets and all the holy ones of the Old Testament. We profess this in the Creed when we say, “He descended into hell…” Upon His death, Christ went to that place of waiting so as to issue both His judgment and bestow His reward on those who had already died.

Using your imagination, you may also consider yourself as one of those 500 who saw Jesus when He appeared. Or reflect upon yourself being one who had Jesus appear to you in private. Consider yourself having a lack of faith that Jesus addresses and seek to use such a meditation to deepen your faith in this most glorious event in the history of the world.

Reflection: Prayerfully ponder 1 Corinthians 15:3–11 (Optional: Galatians 1:13–14; Acts 9:3–9) using the methods of meditation and contemplation with which you have become familiar.

Featured Image: Pixabay photo

Introduction to the Meditations for the Easter Season

  1. Resurrection of Jesus and First Apparition
  2. Second Apparition
  3. Third Apparition
  4. Fourth Apparition
  5. Fifth Apparition
  6. Sixth Apparition
  7. Seventh Apparition
  8. Eighth Apparition
  9. Ninth Apparition
  10. Additional Apparitions
  11. Ascension of Jesus
  12. Contemplation to Attain Divine Love

Table of Contents

Share this Page: